Neeraj Chopra to guide 28-member Indian crew in World Athletics Championships

Star performer: Neeraj’s presence will be a boost for the Indian squad.

Star performer: Neeraj’s presence might be a lift for the Indian squad.
| Photograph Credit score: File photograph

Olympic champion Neeraj Chopra was the most important star within the 28-member Indian contingent that was introduced on Tuesday for the World athletics championships to be held in Budapest from August 19.

Whereas the presence of Chopra, who’s coaching in Switzerland and can search to enhance upon his silver medal within the earlier version, is a lift for India, the absence of Asian champion shot putter Tajinderpal Singh Toor, who’s recovering from a groin damage, has come as a setback.

Forward of the Asian Video games, excessive jumper Tejaswin Shankar and 800m runner Okay.M. Chanda, who certified by means of rankings, and 20km race walker Priyanka Goswami, who achieved automated qualifying normal, have additionally skipped the occasion.

Steeplechaser Avinash Sable, lengthy jumpers M. Sreeshankar and Jeswin Aldrin and triple jumper Praveen Chithravel had been another main Indian names within the squad. “Majority of our athletes have reached Hungary to get acclimatised to native climate circumstances,” mentioned chief coach Radhakrishnan Nair.

Lengthy jumper Shaili Singh will depart for Budapest this weekend, whereas javelin throwers D.P. Manu and Kishore Jena are anticipated to affix the crew subsequent week.

The squad:

Males: Krishan Kumar (800m), Ajay Kumar Saroj (1500m), Santhosh Kumar (400mh), Avinash Sable (3000m steeplechase), Sarvesh Anil Kushare (excessive soar), Jeswin Aldrin, Murali Sreeshankar (lengthy soar), Praveen Chithravel, Abdulla Aboobacker, Eldhouse Paul (triple soar), Neeraj Chopra, DP Manu, Kishore Kumar Jena (javelin), Akashdeep Singh, Vikash Singh, Paramjeet Singh (20km race stroll), Ram Baboo (35km race stroll), Males’s 4×4 relay (Amoj, Jacob, Muhammed Anas, Muhammed Ajmal, Rajesh Ramesh, Arul Rajalingam, Mijo Chacko Kurian).

Girls: Parul Chaudhary (3000m steeplechase), Shaili Singh (lengthy soar), Annu Rani (javelin), Jyothi Yarraji (100mh), Bhawna Jat (20km race stroll).

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Latest Articles